Is God’s guidance enough for your leadership?

I recently met a Christian leader from another ministry. The purpose of the meeting was to get to know one another and see how we might be able to work together to reach more people for Christ.

It didn’t take long to see that we have very different ideas about ministry. In fact, within the first few minutes of meeting this leader, he told me that my strategy for reaching the world “will never work” and that I need to redesign what we do at KidZ At Heart to fit into the design of his ministry. After sharing with him why I believe his tools and techniques might not be the best ways to accomplish the goals of our ministry (equipping people to reach and teach kids for Christ within their own culture), he told me “my God isn’t big enough.”

I left the meeting questioning myself. Did he have a point? Should I make compromises in order to mesh with his ministry and open doors to future partnerships? Am I missing an opportunity? Am I doing something wrong?

And then I realized I was asking the wrong questions. The only question I really need to ask (and answer) is, “What does God want me to do?”

I think it is good to listen to different strategies, different approaches, different goals…meet with leaders who have different styles, different beliefs, different calls on their lives…and to honor them all.

But when it comes down to how we lead and the decisions we make, let’s be sure we listen to the voice that counts: God’s!

Leave a Reply

