What are you reading?

Within a few minutes of meeting my friend, Gary, he asked me what I was reading. Interesting question. He explained that you can tell a lot about a person if you know what he or she is reading.

What are you reading? Is it entertaining you? Inspiring you? Challenging you?

I just a finished a book that stretched me a bit: Everything Belongs, by Richard Rohr. His political stance is not mine. His denomination is not mine. His life experiences are not mine. But the thing that stretched me most was the depth of his thoughts.

This is one of my favorite passages from his book:

For me, the utter powerlessness of God is that God forgives. I hold myself in a position of power by not forgiving myself or others. God does not hold onto that position of power. God seems to be so ready to surrender divine power. God forgives the world of being broken and poor. God forgives us for not being all that we thought we had to be and even for what God wanted us to be. That is probably why we fall in love with such a God. Why wouldn’t you? You would be fool not to – and you will be a “holy fool” if you do.

Are you holding onto power? Is there someone you need to forgive? Is it you?

2 thoughts on “What are you reading?

  1. Jesus Manifesto: Restoring the Supremacy and Sovereignty of Jesus Christ by Leonard Sweet and Frank Viola (Thomas Nelson)

    Parenting Beyond Your Capacity: Connect Your Family to a Wider Community (The Orange Series

    Two fantastic books

Leave a Reply

